The 5 Best Federico Fellini Films According To Me

The Buddhist Therapist
8 min readFeb 2, 2021

Federico Fellini has always been one of my favorite directors for two simple reasons: 1) even in his worst movies, he seems incapable of filming a dull scene; 2) in his best films, he has so much to say about a meaningful life in an increasingly discordant, consumerist world. Recently I watched almost the entire oeuvre of Fellini’s films and reviewed many of his films. Here is a list of 5 films that I think any newcomer to his films should see.

1) I Vitelloni (1953)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ia8JJJBfzwk&ab_channel=alemoon2012

Despite being it being his first film, Fellini’s “I Vitelloni” has been very influential to a number of great directors, including Stanley Kubrick, Martin Scorsese and Francis Ford Coppola. It is the story of 5 young, aimless young men who live in a small Italian town and spend their nights drinking and carousing with women. It lacks the panache of Fellini’s later style but is still an interesting character study of the young searching for direction in post-war Italy. Here’s what I wrote about Moraldo, one of the main characters of the film on my old film blog:

Moraldo’s struggle is the same struggle that my friends and I went through post-college and seems to be a universal feeling among men in the modern world. We know what culture expects of us: a good job, a family, a house. But that future seems so suffocating and pre-ordained for many of us. But we know few other alternatives. And so we drift from bar to bar, woman

--

--

The Buddhist Therapist

The relationship between mental health, spirituality and politics told from the point of view of a working psychotherapist.